Whoops!

Guess I forgot to update for about 2 months! 

For the past month or so, we’ve been working on home projects, and I thought this would be a perfect place to document everything! Our list of projects includes, in no particular order:

  • Take out and re-do the driveway
  • Paint the entryway (done!)
  • Paint the living room/dining room
  • Paint the kitchen
  • Install an over-the-range microwave (done!)
  • Paint 3 exterior doors (2 are done!)
  • Paint shutters
  • New kitchen counters
  • New kitchen backsplash
  • Paint the kitchen cupboards
  • Paint the deck
  • Refinish my flea market dining room table
  • Paint the upstairs guest bathroom
  • Possibly get new counters in the upstairs guest bathroom

Um…I think that’s it! Lots of painting in our future. We’ll be experts after this summer.

A few weeks ago I painted our entryway. It was white, and had been scuffed up quite a bit. I went with a light grey, my favorite color! I took Norah to my parent’s house and got busy painting. 

Before – Dingy white blah:  Entryway before

 

 

 

After – Light Grey Fabulousness: Entryway after

 

Also notice how white and clean that door is!? Shane set up a paint studio in our garage and has been busy sanding, priming and painting three steel doors. They were all scratched up and dirty. Not anymore! We bought a paint sprayer for the project, but I think he ended up rolling them instead. Bonding primer is the most wonderful painting tool there is. It’s about as thick as sour cream, and it’s fantastic. We still need to paint the front of the front door. It’s primed right now. The white primer is already a huge improvement over the dark hunter green (bleh). It’s going to be BAM RED when it’s all done. Can’t wait!

We scraped and primed the door frame around the outside of the front door too. Geez, we’ve been so busy I don’t even remember what we’ve done!

So today I decided to paint the stairwell and hallway that goes upstairs. Here’s the before:

Stairwell before

 

It’s hard to see, but there are 4 doors there to paint around! Also, you can probably see that I started painting before I remembered to take a picture 🙂 The walls are currently beige. The living room, dining room, kitchen, and both stairwells. Beige, beige, beige! I’ve had enough beige. This stairwell will be light grey-blue. I got one coat done, and I’m currently waiting for paint to dry. 

Shane also has a project today: redo the driveway! There’s a big dip in the driveway – we call it the sink hole. 

Sinkhole

He rented a cement saw and naturally, after one pass, the starter broke. So he’s back at Bomgaars (our favorite store!) either getting it fixed or picking up another saw. Here’s a shot of the man in action: 

IMG_5027

 

He’ll be jackhammering the driveway out later today. He’s so excited to do that in this humid 90 degree weather!! I have to remember to take my car out of the garage before the jackhammering begins, or I’ll be stuck for a few days. 

All right, time to go put on my second coat!

 

Leave a Reply

